A Little Laudanum Never Hurts

I was quite correct. It all does look so much better this morning.

Narciso, charming man that he is, has forgiven me my clumsiness and failure and given me the opportunity to try another unauthorized entry into the Museum of Mistakes on his behalf. It is so far a much simpler process than it was before, as my previous experiences have indeed stood me in good stead. I have laid a good ground work this morning and should have good news for the dear fellow before the week is out.

Indeed I must have it before the week is out, for news has reached me of a most uncommon expedition, on the surface, to the wild American northwest. I am to go and am somewhat excited for it, though it will restrict my activities here in the Neath somewhat. Fortunately, I have skills in that other world which are not prized and do not seem to apply here in the world of the Masters. With them I shall construct an Aetheric Two-Way Communicator that should allow me to stay in touch with my delicious friends here in some small way.

Last night, I also renewed a friendship with the handsome and knowledgeable Mr. W. and could not be more thrilled. I had not seen much of him since he relocated to premises at the Bazaar itself, which saddened me greatly. It seems I am to help him with a small matter, since he has fallen into upstanding and reputable times — I know those rumors to be misleading. He is a complicated man, as much a rake and a dissolute as any I have known, one who understands the need for stimulus, any stimulus, to fight off the hellish ennuí of boredom.

I do hope he will be a more regular visitor here for I greatly prize his company.

In a spate of more good news I have greatly reduced the threats to my archaeological expedition that Dr. Orthos and Virginia posed — at least for now. I do not delude myself that either has been completely eliminated as a threat, but I do have it on impeccable authority that I’m further along in my preparations than either of them, and intend to keep the situation just so. Best of all, just before I retired for the night I took a walk to clear my head and found that rare moment’s peace that was simultaneously inspiring and restful. I barely needed any laudanum at all to sleep the night through.

Two new acquaintances whom I hope shall be visitors here and delicious friends… and a plan to attract more ladies here, for though I adore my gentlemen friends thoroughly there are times when only the sparkling company of a lovely lady will do. Scandalous, I know… but then, what else did you expect? I cannot spend all my time in church (though one must confess that the curate and his sister made such attendances extraordinarily worthwhile…).

11 Comments

  1. NWeismuller said,

    July 4, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    My dearest madam:

    I shall certainly attempt to visit more regularly. Your charming company is always a thing that brightens my life, beyond the candles we share in the night… As for your seeking of the company of ladies, at times? Positively capital, in my opinion. Although I hardly represent the voice of the great and the good, as you know.

    One thing further- if you refer to the curate and his sister I suspect, be aware that I know both were, and I suspect at least the sister still is, involved in a certain import/export business; one that had them involved heavily in the trade of brass. Be cautious, madam.

    • cl0ckw0rks said,

      July 5, 2010 at 8:46 am

      Brass and some of the more intangible things that interest Hell, to be sure. I’m still investigating St. Dunstan’s when I have opportunity, it’s a nasty business. The vicar bolts through the back door every time he hears I’m even in the neighborhood, I’m told.

      The more… intimate associations with the handsomely sadistic curate and his adopted sister with her curious appetites are well in my past now, so do be at ease on that matter. I accumulated more scandal in my pursuit of them than can easily be recounted; fortunately, he was a curate, so I was attending church often enough to offset most of it.

      Most of the memories are delightful ones. The rest… the rest leave me thoughtful indeed.

      Tell me if you would though, for I am curious — did you seduce just the sister? Or did you take them both when opportunity arose?

      • NWeismuller said,

        July 5, 2010 at 11:31 am

        Only the sister, madam- although this was solely due to growing impatience by the time matters came to a close. The whole matter was most incredibly extended, as I know you well know.

        • cl0ckw0rks said,

          July 5, 2010 at 11:35 am

          Indeed. I do. And yet I was rather melancholy when it was over, as I enjoyed the pursuit very much. More than I should have, perhaps.

          • NWeismuller said,

            July 5, 2010 at 12:13 pm

            That, at least, I can understand. The perils of a vulnerability to beauty, as it were.

  2. Theodor said,

    July 5, 2010 at 9:44 am

    Forgive me, for though I have been bade to make your acquaintance here, I confess myself uncertain how to address a lady without formal introduction, and hope you will allow me to redress any impropriety that follows from my ignorance. My name, as you know, is Theodor Gylden; on the surface I traveled with Henrik as a scholar of ghost lore. We have since been detained in Fallen London, and as I have not been here long, I continue to be grateful for the regard you have shown me.

    • cl0ckw0rks said,

      July 5, 2010 at 10:16 am

      Oh my dear fellow… you came so highly recommended for my acquaintance I could hardly refuse the opportunity. Do feel welcome here, I pray you — I’m so glad you decided to join us!

      So you and dear Henrik are ghost hunters? Or am I leaping to unwarranted conclusions once again?

      • Theodor said,

        July 5, 2010 at 11:33 am

        Indeed, you might call us that. Though there is an implication of heedless thrill-seeking in it that I dislike, we have encountered and subdued spirits in the course of our research, and Henrik has a rooted sense of justice — he is quick to pursue a ghost he believes could endanger someone.

        • cl0ckw0rks said,

          July 5, 2010 at 11:36 am

          How thrilling. What is it that brought you both to this place, if I am not too forward in asking?

          • Theodor said,

            July 5, 2010 at 12:23 pm

            We are … pursuing a murderer instead of a ghost. As I said, Henrik has a rooted sense of justice.

            • cl0ckw0rks said,

              July 5, 2010 at 12:48 pm

              Well, there are plenty in Fallen London from which to choose, I suppose. If it’s Jack-of-Smiles, I’ve been entertaining myself with making his existence as miserable as possible, lately.


Leave a Reply

